Caselberg Trust
Cart 0

About the trust

Broad Bay has played a rich and vital part in the flowering of New Zealand art. Between 1959 and 1973, the holiday cottage of the poet/writer/editor Charles Brasch, was regularly visited by some of the best known writers and artists of the time – among them Janet Frame, CK Stead, RAK Mason, and Ruth Dallas. It was a refuge for creativity and a gathering place for passionate cultural debate.

Brasch, who died in 1973, left his cottage (at 10 Gwyn St) to his friends Anna and John Caselberg. They subsequently bought the larger cottage next door, and used the ‘Brasch’ cottage for a number of years as a studio for Anna before eventually selling it to a local purchaser.

When Anna and John died they left No. 8 Gwyn Street to their daughter, and this is the property that was then bought in 2006 by the newly-formed Caselberg Trust.

Since establishing in 2009, Trustees and associated committee members have worked to encourage patronage in the arts in Otago and Southland. Aside from regular residencies in the Cottage and Studio, the Trust regularly put on a variety of events, and offer awards and prizes for poets and young people to foster art and practice in the local area. Events include: poetry prizes, youth awards, house concerts, exhibitions, rare book auctions, talks, performances.

Anna Caselberg was a major artist and the daughter of one of New Zealand’s best-known painters Sir Tosswill Woollaston. “Her paintings made the art of seeing miraculous” Wayne Seyb, artist.

John Caselberg was a poet, playright, critic and short story writer. He was a longtime collaborator with artist Colin McCahon. John’s poems illuminated some of McCahon’s best known works. McCahon’s free flowing genius was in part anchored by Caselberg’s insight.

About Anna and John Caselberg

Dame Gillian Whitehead, composer of renown and recipient of many prestigious music awards.


  • Janet Downs

  • Lesley Hirst

  • Kirsten Lovelock

  • Robert West

Committee Members

Barbara Wilkins, Leslie Turner, Karina McLeod, Lisa McCauley, Claire Beynon, Keitha Ross, Dee Copland, Mark Sanders, Victoria McIntosh, Chloe Geoghegan and many other generous supporters from the Broad Bay community and beyond.

our people

our supporters


Supporters of the 2017 Charles Brasch Studio build:

AAW Jones Charitable Trust

Alexander McMillan Trust

Otago Peninsula Community Board

DCC Community Grants

Lion Foundation 

Otago Community Trust 

Lottery Grants Board

Four Winds Foundation

Perpetual Guardian