2018 Poetry Prize | And the winner is…

By – On November 14, 2018 – In News With Comments Off on 2018 Poetry Prize | And the winner is…
2018 Poetry Prize | And the winner is…

We are thrilled to announce the winners of this year’s International Poetry Prize!

First place went to you can’t be here by Derek Schulz of Kapiti (pictured above), and Full Measure by Tony Beyer of Taranaki was placed second. The winner receives $500 and a week’s stay at the Caselberg House. The second placed poet receives $250. Both poems and the judges report will be published the November issue of Landfall.

The four Highly Commended entries were: Oh! Kee-o Kee-o and Memorial by Janet Newman (Horowhenua), The Castle by Sarah Scott (Wellington), and A Country Airing by Ruth Arnison (Dunedin). Their poems, along with the two winning entries and the judges report, will be published on the Caselberg Trust website in late November and read live by our winners at our upcoming awards night:

Caselberg International Poetry Prize 2018 Awards Night
University Book Shop
378 Great King Street, Dunedin
5.30pm, Thursday 29 November
Free to attend, all welcome!

Click to join Facebook Event

Judge David Eggleton said of Schulz’s winning poem: “The poem ‘you can’t be here’ has a quicksilvery radiance; it’s like some febrile emanation of human consciousness itself. I applaud the wit and vividness of its dream-like scenario. In its zaniness and absurdity, it’s a kind of distillation of our current cultural condition, making it up as we go along in a just-in-time manner” and he noted that “Evanescent, spun out of thin air, it generates its own force-field; it lifts you up – and puts you down in a different place to where you were before”. You can download a full copy of the judge’s report on our website or find it in Landfall 236.

About the Winners:

Derek Schulz (2018 winner) is a poet, essayist and writer of fictions. ‘you can’t be here’ pays homage to friend and workmate Jean Webster. Arohanui Gem! Schulz’s work has appeared in Landfall, Sport, New Zealand Listener, Art NZ, and Architecture NZ among other publications, and his essay on Janet Frame “Secrets” appeared in the last edition of Landfall (Landfall 235).

Tony Beyer (2018 runner-up) operates out of Taranaki. New work has appeared this year in broadsheet, Landfall, Otoliths and Poetry Pacific. Beyer’s “Anchor Stone” (Cold Hub Press), was a finalist in the poetry category of the 2018 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards.

Highly commended:

Ruth Arnison is the editor of Poems in the Waiting Room (NZ), the instigator of Lilliput Libraries, and is responsible for the Poems on Steps project in Dunedin. Earlier this year she was awarded the QSM for services to poetry and literature.

Janet Newman is a PhD student in Creative Writing at Massey University. In 2017 she won the International Writers’ Workshop Kathleen Grattan Prize for a Sequence of Poems and in 2015 the New Zealand Poetry Society International Poetry Competition. Her poems have been published in a variety of journals.

Sarah Scott lives in Wellington. This year she won the ‘micro’ category in the NZ Flash Fiction competition and received Highly Commended in the Divine Muses Emerging Poets competition. Her recent work is in Landfall and Turbine.

Download and read a copy of David Eggleton’s Judge’s Report, which also features in Landfall 236.

Click here to download Judge’s Report

Comments are closed.

/* ]]> */